TRANSFORMED CITY DREAMS

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl / Radiolux

For the Luminale, the artists of Radiolux have conceived their "Dream of a City" in three chapters. The video work leads from historical urban structures of the present with a view of industry, traffic and communication, to future green, urban utopias. The buildings of the Römerberg act as stages with alternating narratives. The old St. Nicholas Church, the oldest building on the site, serves as a "pantry", where the production merges animations and sound collages from field recordings, with electronics, saxophone and clarinet.

Luminale on the Römer: A Dream of a City

3 times 30 years of partnership connect the city of Frankfurt with its twin cities of Budapest, Prague and Leipzig. Already in 1990, one year after the fall of the Iron Curtain, friendship treaties were concluded with three anniversaries. Where does one receive the guests of honor to celebrate such a memorable event? Where else but in the ”Gud Stubb" , the good old living room, in the heart of the city, on the Römerberg. For the Luminale 2020, the stage is set for the artists from Budapest, Prague and Leipzig! "A dream of a city" is the broad leitmotif for artistic works by the city’s partners. Under this motto, design studios from Budapest, Prague and Leipzig will each present an audiovisual work –  a video mapping that embraces the Römer and the Old St. Nicholas Church. A look at what we have in common, at what unites us, at common visions and challenges.

International city partnership has a long tradition and was born after the Second World War from the desire for lasting reconciliation.  This is where people meet, exchange experiences and ideas and get personally involved in collaborative projects.

The city of Frankfurt am Main is connected with 17 partner cities on four continents. One of the key objectives thereby is to promote meetings and exchange of experience. In 2020, the partnerships with Lyon, Milan and Tel Aviv will also be celebrating round jubilees. The oldest friendship treaty was concluded with Lyon in 1960, and 2020 marks its 60th anniversary.

Luminale on the Römer: 
Prag
Budapest

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl / Radiolux

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann and Inka Perl are Radiolux. Marek Brandt focuses on media art, specifically digital sound design, as well as sound and video performances. In addition to various forms of music, he engages with the possibilities of improvisation in interaction with digitally-generated sounds. Inka Perl's work is characterized by the two- and three-dimensional examination of objects and their transformation into moving images and installations.


TRANSFORMED CITY DREAMS

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Römer, Römerberg, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

TRANSFORMED CITY DREAMS

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl / Radiolux

Radiolux – Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl – konzipieren für die Luminale ihren "Dream of a City" in drei Kapitel. Die Videoarbeit führt von historischen Stadtstrukturen in die Gegenwart mit einem Blick auf Industrie, Verkehr und Kommunikation hin zur künftigen grünen Stadt-Utopien.  Die Gebäude des Römerbergs fungieren hierbei als Bühnen mit zeitlich versetzten Spielhandlungen. Die alte Nikolaikirche als ältestes Gebäude an diesem Ort dient als "Vorratskammer". In der audiovisuellen Inszenierung verschmelzen Animationen und Klangkollagen aus Fieldrecordings, Elektronik, Saxophon und Klarinette.

Luminale am Römer: Ein Traum von einer Stadt

 

3 mal 30 Jahre Städtepartnerschaft verbinden die Stadt Frankfurt am Main mit ihren Partnerstädten Budapest, Prag und Leipzig. Schon 1990, ein Jahr nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs, wurden die Freundschaftsabkommen mit den drei Jubilaren geschlossen. Wo empfängt man die Ehrengäste, um dieses besondere Ereignis zu feiern? Natürlich in der guten Stube, der „Gud Stubb“, im Herzen der Stadt, auf dem Römerberg. Zur Luminale 2020 heißt es hier: Bühne frei für die Künstler aus Budapest, Prag und Leipzig! „Ein Traum von einer Stadt“ ist das weit gefasste Leitmotiv für künstlerische Beiträge der Städtepartner. Unter diesem Motto zeigen Designstudios aus Budapest, Prag und Leipzig je eine audiovisuelle Arbeit – ein Video-Mapping, das den Römer und die Alte Nikolaikirche einschließt. Ein Blick auf das Gemeinsame, auf das, was uns verbindet, auf gemeinsame Visionen und Herausforderungen.

Internationale Städtepartnerschaften haben eine lange Tradition und sind nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg aus dem Wunsch nach dauerhafter Versöhnung entstanden. Hier treffen Menschen zusammen, tauschen Erfahrungen und Ideen aus und bringen sich persönlich in gemeinsame Projekte ein. Die Stadt Frankfurt am Main ist verbunden mit 17 Partnerstädten auf vier Kontinenten. Dabei zählt es zu den wichtigsten Zielen, Begegnungen und Erfahrungsaustausch zu fördern. 2020 feiern auch die Partnerschaften mit Lyon, Mailand und Tel Aviv runde Jubiläen. Das älteste Freundschaftsabkommen wurde 1960 mit Lyon geschlossen, es jährt sich 2020 zum 60. Mal.

Luminale am Römer:
Prag 
Budapest

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl / Radiolux

Marek Brandt, Fabian Niermann und Inka Perl sind Radiolux. Marek Brandt fokussiert sich in der Medienkunst auf digitale Soundgestaltung sowie Klang- und Videoperformances. Neben verschiedenen Formen der Musik beschäftigt sich Fabian Niermann mit den Möglichkeiten der Improvisation im Zusammenspiel mit digital erzeugten Klängen. Inka Perls Arbeit ist geprägt von der zwei- und dreidimensionalen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Gegenstand und dessen Umsetzung in Bewegtbild und Installationen.


TRANSFORMED CITY DREAMS

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Römer, Römerberg, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.