Touching Night Skies – 50°06'44"N 8°40'36"E

Tobias Ziegler

Dense urban living space, dramatic illumination of buildings, street lighting, and industry – these factors all make it difficult to experience the night as such. The night is getting brighter. To be able to observe the night sky as the inspiration it used to be for the artists of the Romantic period, one must seek out the remotest corners of Germany. On the other hand, the illuminated night is also a symbol of modern romanticism. With its buildings illuminated to great effect, the Frankfurt night sky is one of the brightest in Germany. Touching Night Skies creates a space at a specific location (>> 50°06'44 "N 8°40'36 "E) where the focus is directed towards the night sky. What does darkness mean in this city, for me? What is left of the firmament? Where are the stars? What is the bright night doing to me?

Touching Night Skies is a temporary structure at the Roßmarkt. The visitor enters an intensely black corridor, an ambiguous place that offers an especially physical experience. After a few steps into the installation, the city is no longer visible to the left or right - darkness has enveloped the visitor. Immersed in a black sea, only the bright night sky remains. It is simultaneously dark and light.

Tobias Ziegler

A particular focus of Tobias Ziegler's artistic activity is the question of how the perception of a person's individual environment changes in a rapidly developing media world. His multimodal space-light installations take people to the limits of their perception, exploring their awareness of their relationship to their environment. Who influences whom? His works have been exhibited in Montréal and at the ZKM in Karlsruhe, among other places.


Touching Night Skies – 50°06'44"N 8°40'36"E

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Roßmarkt, , 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Touching Night Skies – 50°06'44"N 8°40'36"E

Tobias Ziegler

Verdichteter urbaner Lebensraum, dramatische Lichtinszenierungen von Gebäuden, Straßenbeleuchtung, Industrie – all diese Faktoren erschweren es die Nacht als solche zu erleben. Die Nacht wird immer heller. Um den Nachthimmel wahrnehmen zu können, wie er Inspiration für die Künstler der Romantik war, müssen die entlegensten Winkel Deutschlands aufgesucht werden. Auf der anderen Seite ist die illuminierte Nacht gleichzeitig ein Symbol moderner Romantik. Mit seinen effektvoll illuminierten Gebäuden ist der Frankfurter Nachthimmel einer der hellsten Deutschlands. Touching Night Skies schafft am spezifischen Ort (>> 50°06'44"N 8°40'36"E) einen Raum, in dem der Fokus auf den Nachthimmel gelenkt wird. Was bedeutet Dunkelheit in dieser Stadt, für mich? Was ist vom Firmament übriggeblieben? Wo sind die Sterne? Was macht die helle Nacht mit mir?

Touching Night Skies ist eine temporäre Struktur auf dem Roßmarkt. Besucher betreten einen intensiv schwarzen Korridor, einen ambiguen Ort der eine besonders körperliche Erfahrung bereit hält. Nach wenigen Schritten in die Installation ist die Stadt links und rechts nicht mehr zu sehen – die Dunkelheit hat die Besucher*innen umfasst. Eingetaucht in ein schwarzes Meer bleibt nur noch der helle Nachthimmel. Es ist dunkel und zugleich hell.

Tobias Ziegler

Besonderer Fokus der künstlerischen Tätigkeit von Tobias Ziegler liegt auf der Frage, wie sich die Wahrnehmung der individuellen Umwelt eines Menschen in einer sich rapide entwickelnden medialen Welt verändert. Seine multimodalen Raum-Licht-Installationen bringen die Menschen an die Grenzen ihrer Wahrnehmung und loten dabei das Bewusstsein für das Verhältnis des Menschen zu seiner Umwelt aus. Wer beeinflusst wen? Seine Arbeiten wurden bisher u.a. in Montréal oder am ZKM in Karlsruhe ausgestellt.


Touching Night Skies – 50°06'44"N 8°40'36"E

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Roßmarkt, , 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.