Sunshowers/Sunbeams

Marija Avramovic & Sam Twidale

Sunshowers/Sunbeam for the living room: 
Download AR-App Sunbeams https://www.sunbeams.land/ and start it! 

Sunshowers/Sunbeam is a realtime animation artwork. It is inspired by the opening chapter of Akira Kurosawa’s film Dreams which follows a young boy as he explores a forest and stumbles across a forbidden fox wedding (Kitsune no Yomeiri). Sunshowers was commissioned for an exhibition on artificial intelligence at the Barbican Centre, London, in May 2019.

The film's poetic and magical fairy-tale imagery is adopted and transformed into a techno-animistic virtual world. Animism, the belief that not only humans but also nature is animated, is a thoroughly romantic phenomenon which, by means of an iconic film, is transported to the digital age. In an extension for the Luminale (Sunbeams), an AR-app completes the animation, allowing the characters to act in the urban space.

The AI system used for the figures is based on video-game AI, as well as techniques of neural networks and genetic algorithms, enabling them to make their own decisions. The viewer is invited to follow or interact with different AI avatars in the form of animals, spirits, flowers, trees, and rocks, all of which behave autonomously with the aid of the viewer’s mobile phone.

 

Marija Avramovic & Sam Twidale

Visual artist Marija Avramovic and new media artist and programmer Sam Twidale began working together in 2017. Despite coming from two distinct artistic backgrounds, the main concerns of their work mirror each other. Together they work at the boundary between the artificial and the real, creating virtual worlds populated by AI characters and spirits as well as paintings and physical installations, all of which inhabit the same playful universe.


Sunshowers/Sunbeams

Lichtkunst Outdoor  |  Anderes Format

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Eschenheimer Anlage, Peterstraße, 60547 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Sunshowers/Sunbeams

Marija Avramovic & Sam Twidale

Sunbeams/Sunshowers fürs Wohnzimmer: 
Download AR-App Sunbeams https://www.sunbeams.land/ und los geht´s! 

Inspiriert von Akira Kurosawas Kultfilm Dreams, in dessen Eröffnungsszene ein kleiner Junge bei einem Waldspaziergang unerwartet auf eine verbotene Fuchshochzeit trifft (Kitsune no Yomeiri) ist Sunshowers eine Animationsinstallation in Echtzeit. Sunshowers wurde als Auftragsarbeit für eine Ausstellung über künstliche Intelligenz im Barbican Centre, London, im Mai 2019 entwickelt.

Die poetische, märchenhaft-magische Bildsprache des Films wird aufgegriffen und in einen Techno-Animismus gewandelt. Animismus, der Glaube, dass nicht nur Menschen, sondern auch die Natur beseelt sei, ist ein durchaus romantisches Phänomen und wird so anhand einer Filmikone ins Digitale Zeitalter überführt. In einer Erweiterung für die Luminale (Sunbeams) ergänzt eine AR-App die Animation und lässt die Figuren im Stadtraum agieren.

Das AI-System, das für die Charaktere verwendet wird, basiert auf der künstlichen Intelligenz von Videospielen sowie Techniken neuronaler Netze und genetischer Algorithmen. Damit können sie ihre eigenen Entscheidungen treffen. Der Beobachter ist eingeladen, den verschiedenen AI-Avataren in Form von Tieren, Geistern, Blumen, Bäumen und Steinen, die sich alle ganz unterschiedlich verhalten, mit Hilfe seines Smartphones zu folgen oder mit ihnen zu interagieren.

Marija Avramovic & Sam Twidale

Die bildende Künstlerin Marija Avramovic und der Medienkünstler und Programmierer Sam Twidale arbeiten seit 2017 zusammen. Obwohl ihr künstlerischer Hintergrund nicht unterschiedlicher sein könnte, spiegeln sich die Hauptthemen ihrer Arbeiten gegenseitig wider. Sie arbeiten an der Grenze zwischen dem Künstlichen und dem Realen und erschaffen (virtuelle) Welten, in denen sowohl AI-Figuren und Geister, als auch Gemälde und physische Installationen auftreten.


Sunshowers/Sunbeams

Lichtkunst Outdoor  |  Anderes Format

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Eschenheimer Anlage, Peterstraße, 60547 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.