SINNES!ORGAN

Ralf Tjabben

Stephanie Scheubeck

Oliver Tjabben, Elisabeth Stoll, Maja Vollstedt

What is the color of a particular chord? What is the taste of a C-major scale? Are romantic songs purple? When are yellow figures dancing in a room? What is the primary color of church organ music? – Synesthesia refers to extra neural connections between the individual senses. Sounds can take on color, letters can be felt and chords can be tasted. It is estimated that 4 percent of all people possess such an attribute. In relation to this theme, "Sinnes!Organ" combines color and shape with music. Thus, during the Luminale, music can be “felt” with the senses.

In Frankfurt's Lutherkirche, three students of church music will be playing major works of organ literature on the Walcker-organ. The complete church interior, including the large church organ, will be integrated within a synesthetic composition of light. Thus, the audience will gain a sense of how a synesthete feels tones, sounds and music.   

The installation is rounded off by an illumination of the church facade in alternating colors (see project "looks"). Information on the fascinating subject of synesthesia can be found in the next door "Luther-Bistro".

Ralf Tjabben

Since 2012, Ralf Tjabben has been taking part in the Luminale. With "Sinnes!Organ", he is active as think-tank and light choreographer.

Stephanie Scheubeck

Stephanie Scheubeck from Berlin is an international dancer, choreographer and filmmaker, who brings her own synesthetic experiences into the project.

Oliver Tjabben, Elisabeth Stoll, Maja Vollstedt

Elisabeth Stoll (Frankfurt), Oliver Tjabben and Maja Vollstedt (both of Lübeck) are students of church music and will be playing various organ pieces in harmony with light.


SINNES!ORGAN

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12.03.20, 21–23:30 Uhr / 13.–15.03.20, 20–23:30 Uhr
  • Evangelische Luthergemeinde, Martin-Luther-Platz 1, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

SINNES!ORGAN

Ralf Tjabben

Stephanie Scheubeck

Oliver Tjabben, Elisabeth Stoll, Maja Vollstedt

Welche Farbe hat ein bestimmter Akkord? Wie schmeckt eine C-Dur-Tonleiter? Sind romantische Lieder lila? Wann tanzen im Raum gelbe Figuren? Welche Grundfarbe hat die Musik einer Kirchenorgel? – Synästhesie beruht auf zusätzlichen neuronalen Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Sinnen. Töne können Farben annehmen, Buchstaben können gefühlt und Akkorde geschmeckt werden. Es wird geschätzt, dass 4 Prozent der Menschen eine solche Eigenschaft besitzen. Das Projekt „Sinnes!Organ“ kombiniert in Bezug auf dieses Thema Farben und Formen mit der Musik – während der Luminale kann die Musik somit mit den Sinnen erspürt werden.

Auf der Walcker-Orgel in der Frankfurter Lutherkirche werden bedeutende Werke der Orgelliteratur live von drei Studierenden der Kirchenmusik gespielt. Der komplette Kirchenraum wird inklusive der großen Kirchenorgel in eine synästhetische Licht-Komposition einbezogen. Die Zuschauer*innen bekommen eine Ahnung davon, wie ein Synästhetiker Töne, Klänge und Musik empfindet.   

Abgerundet wird die Installation von einer Illumination der Kirchenfront, die die Fassade der Kirche in wechselnden Farben zeigt (siehe Projekt „schaut hin“). Im „Luther-Bistro“ nebenan wird über das spannende Thema Synästhesie informiert.

Ralf Tjabben

Ralf Tjabben wirkt seit 2012 an der Luminale in Frankfurt mit. Er ist bei „Sinnes!Organ“ Ideenschmied und Lichtchoreograf.

Stephanie Scheubeck

Stephanie Scheubeck aus Berlin arbeitet international als Tänzerin, Choreographin und Filmemacherin. Sie bringt ihre eigenen synästhetischen Erfahrungen in das Projekt mit ein.

Oliver Tjabben, Elisabeth Stoll, Maja Vollstedt

Elisabeth Stoll (Frankfurt), Oliver Tjabben und Maja Vollstedt (beide Lübeck) studieren Kirchenmusik und werden im Einklang zum Licht verschiedene Orgelstücke spielen. Oliver Tjabben hat bereits eigene Konzerte an der Orgel gegeben und gilt als Nachwuchstalent auf diesem Instrument. Elisabeth Stoll studiert im 1. Semester an der HfMDK Frankfurt (Hessens Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Tanz) und ist sehr talentiert im Spiel auf der Orgel.


SINNES!ORGAN

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12.03.20, 21–23:30 Uhr / 13.–15.03.20, 20–23:30 Uhr
  • Evangelische Luthergemeinde, Martin-Luther-Platz 1, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.