Shedim-Ballett

Lukas Sünder

As part of the Luminale 2020, the glass façade of the Ignatz Bubis-Gemeindezentrum will feature a project by Lukas Sünder. In terms of content, it refers to Jewish fairy tale, as well as the building's identity as an integral and egalitarian part of the city of Frankfurt itself.

The installation portrays a bleakly-colored, yet indefinable, environment where human-like creatures, the Shedim – spirits created from fire and wind – become visible. They are the protagonists of Jewish fairy tale, folklore and mythology. Both benign and malicious – in a state of imperfection between spirits and angels – they move together in hypnotic rondels. Their appearance is shadowy, diffused and transparent. Visitors can listen to the fantastic stories of the beings through headphones (or on a website) and learn of unknown legends and traditions that have been handed down over the centuries and always played a role in Frankfurt. The fascination for fantastic stories and motifs creates a narrative approach to Frankfurt’s Jewish community.

Lukas Sünder

Lukas Sünder (*1989) studied visual communication at the University of Art and Design Offenbach am Main from 2010 to 2016. Since 2017, he has been studying Performative Arts in Social Fields at the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences and works both as a freelance artist and as a mentor at the Polytechnical Society Foundation. The focus of his work is the human, whom he frequently confronts with religious-social issues in the (semi-) public space. He lives and works in Offenbach.


Shedim-Ballett

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12. / 14. / 15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Jüdische Gemeinde Frankfurt am Main / Ignatz Bubis-Gemeindezentrum, Savignystraße 66, 60325 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Shedim-Ballett

Lukas Sünder

Im Rahmen der Luminale 2020 wird die Glasfassade des Ignatz Bubis-Gemeindezentrums mit einem Projekt von Lukas Sünder bespielt. Inhaltlich wird auf die jüdischen Märchen, aber auch auf die Zugehörigkeit des Gebäudes zur Identität Frankfurts, als ein seiner Umgebung zugehöriges, gleichberechtigtes und nicht verstecktes Gebäude, hingewiesen.

Die Installation zeigt eine düster-bunte, undefinierbare Umgebung, in der menschenähnliche Kreaturen, die Shedim – Geister aus Feuer und Wind geschaffen –, sichtbar werden. Sie sind Protagonist*innen jüdischer Märchen, Folklore und Mythologien. Sowohl gutartig als auch bösartig – in einem unvollkommenen Zustand zwischen Geistern und Engeln – bewegen sie sich gemeinsam zu hypnotischen Reigen. Ihre Erscheinung ist schattenartig, diffus und transparent.  Die fantastischen Geschichten der Wesen können sich Besucher*innen über Kopfhörer (oder auf einer Webseite) vortragen lassen und von unbekannten Sagen und Traditionen, die seit jeher auch in Frankfurt eine Rolle spielen und überliefert wurden, erfahren. Die Faszination für phantastische Geschichten und Motive schafft einen narrativen Zugang zur jüdischen Community in Frankfurt.

 

Lukas Sünder

Lukas Sünder (*1989) studierte von 2010 bis 2016 visuelle Kommunikation an der HfG Offenbach. Seit 2017 studiert er an der FH Frankfurt Performative Künste in sozialen Feldern und arbeitet sowohl als freier Künstler, als auch als Mentor der Stiftung Polytechnische Gesellschaft. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit steht der Mensch, den er im (halb-) öffentlichen Raum häufig mit religiös-sozialen Fragen konfrontiert. Er lebt und arbeitet in Offenbach.


Shedim-Ballett

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12. / 14. / 15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Jüdische Gemeinde Frankfurt am Main / Ignatz Bubis-Gemeindezentrum, Savignystraße 66, 60325 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.