Does not take place: Set me tree

Katarzyna Krawczuk

Clarissa Concilio

Rambøll Architectural Lighting Design

SET ME TREE is an interactive and educative installation that was designed with the intent of raising awareness into people. The installation aims to reconnect humans with nature, recreating in them a romantic vision of it and making them reflect upon its importance.

 

In the 18th century, when Romanticism originated, the solution to life’s problem and humans’ degradation was going back to nature, that was seen as pure, uncorrupted and source of spiritual renewal.

A pulsating light coming out from the trees simulates their breaths – calm and rhythmic when no one is around, short and anxious when people get closer. In this way, lighting is simulating the fear that nature has towards humans, who cut and destroy it constantly and daily, by increasing and speeding up the simulated breath of tree with the decrease of the distance between the trunk and the person.

From a distance, visitors will be attracted and intrigued by the view of a pulsating and dazzling entity in the park and they will walk towards it. Reached a certain distance, the tree will detect the presence of human and it will react accordingly – its fear will rise, its breath will get shorter and the light will pulsate faster. When the visitor walks away from it, the tree will regain its stability, its breath will pulsate steadily again and so will the light.

By seeing their own influence on light’s response, people will be induced in interacting with it and they will gain consciousness of their impact on nature.

Katarzyna Krawczuk

Katarzyna is a lighting designer with an architectural background. Having broad experience working with architecture and lighting design in Denmark, Belgium, The Netherlands and China, she developed her artistic sensitivity in a passion for light art installations. In 2018 Katarzyna created Light Art installation for first Copenhagen Light festival called The Wavescape. The installation let people experience water, light and sound wave and relation between those 3 mediums.

Clarissa Concilio

Clarissa is a specialized lighting designer with a background in interior design. The combination of these two fields and her working experience gave her a great understanding of architecture, space, textures and materials, and the way light interacts with them. Together with her passion for architecture and design, Clarissa has a strong interest in temporary light art. For Copenhagen Light Festival 2019, she designed Elementa: a 15 meters long dynamic lighting installation that recreates the natural elements of the city during winter.

Rambøll Architectural Lighting Design

At Ramboll we combine the latest international knowledge of lighting design and technology with architectural and engineering practice. Our portfolio is very broad and it includes everything from city masterplans to lighting for museums, education, health care, industrial facilities and commercial buildings. We undertake small and large projects for public and private sector clients. Our consultancy is impartial and always takes the wider perspective focusing on our clients’ needs.


Does not take place: Set me tree

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • An der Hauptwache, Platanengruppe südlich des Café Hauptwache bzw. Steinweg, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Findet nicht statt: Set me tree

Katarzyna Krawczuk

Clarissa Concilio

Rambøll Architectural Lighting Design

Im 18. Jahrhundert, als die Epoche der Romantik begann, wurde die Rückbesinnung auf die Natur als Lösung für die Probleme des  (städtischen) Lebens gesehen, denn die Natur galt als rein, unverfälscht und als Quelle spiritueller Erneuerung.

„SET ME TREE“ ist eine interaktive Installation, die versucht, die Menschen an ihre Verbindung mit der Natur zu erinnern, in ihnen eine romantische Vision von ihr zu erschaffen und sie dazu zu bringen, über ihre Bedeutung für den Menschen nachzudenken.

Ein pulsierendes Licht, das von den Platanen auf der Hauptwache ausgeht, simuliert den Atem der Bäume: ruhig und rhythmisch, wenn niemand in der Nähe ist; kurz und ängstlich, wenn die Menschen näherkommen. Auf diese Weise simuliert die Installation die Furcht, die die Natur gegenüber dem Menschen hat, der sie ständig und täglich niederschlägt und zerstört, indem sie den simulierten Atem des Baumes mit der Verringerung des Abstandes zwischen dem Stamm und den Betrachter*innen erhöht und beschleunigt.

 

Katarzyna Krawczuk

Katarzyna ist eine Lichtdesignerin mit einem architektonischen Hintergrund. Sie verfügt über eine breite Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit Architektur und Lichtdesign in Dänemark, Belgien, den Niederlanden und China und entwickelte ihre künstlerische Sensibilität in einer Leidenschaft für Lichtkunstinstallationen. Im Jahr 2018 schuf Katarzyna eine Lichtkunstinstallation für das erste Kopenhagener Lichtfestival namens The Wavescape. Die Installation ließ die Menschen Wasser, Licht und Klangwellen und die Beziehung zwischen diesen 3 Medien erleben.

Clarissa Concilio

Clarissa ist eine spezialisierte Lichtdesignerin mit einem Hintergrund in Innenarchitektur. Die Kombination dieser beiden Bereiche und ihre Arbeitserfahrung gaben ihr ein großes Verständnis für Architektur, Raum, Texturen und Materialien und die Art und Weise, wie Licht mit ihnen interagiert. Zusammen mit ihrer Leidenschaft für Architektur und Design hat Clarissa ein starkes Interesse an temporärer Lichtkunst. Für das Copenhagen Light Festival 2019 entwarf sie Elementa: eine 15 Meter lange dynamische Lichtinstallation, die die natürlichen Elemente der Stadt im Winter nachbildet.

Rambøll Architectural Lighting Design

Bei Ramboll verbinden wir die neuesten internationalen Erkenntnisse über Lichtdesign und -technologie mit der Architektur- und Ingenieurpraxis. Unser Portfolio ist sehr breit gefächert und umfasst alles von Masterplänen für Städte bis hin zur Beleuchtung von Museen, Bildungseinrichtungen, Gesundheitswesen, Industrieanlagen und gewerblichen Gebäuden. Wir führen kleine und große Projekte für öffentliche und private Kunden durch. Unsere Beratung ist unparteiisch und nimmt immer die breitere Perspektive ein, wobei wir uns auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden konzentrieren.


Findet nicht statt: Set me tree

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • An der Hauptwache, Platanengruppe südlich des Café Hauptwache bzw. Steinweg, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.