Romanticism vs. reality

Eleonora Esse

Is romantic love a cultural misconception? The installation is made of luminescent glass pebbles. The idea behind this project is that the heritage of Romanticism has caused a cultural idealization of love that generates loneliness and dissatisfaction. Do we expect too much from what we believe to be romantic love? 

Are our expectations unrealistic because we are heirs to a culture that apparently celebrates love but in reality increases our emotional instability? Have pop music, movies and Walt Disney cartoons influenced our romantic imagination?

Romantic love is in total contrast to the reality of everyday life, marriage and family life. We can console ourselves with the fact that our dissatisfaction and loneliness is unlikely to be from our poor choice in partners, and that ending a relationship is not the answer to waning love.

Love is an act of choice and is not constant, it ebbs and flows like our emotions. Unwavering love for one doesn’t come naturally, but it can be learned. We are all imperfect and there will never be one person who will meet all our needs and vice-versa. Loneliness and unhappiness in a relationship are transient and normal feelings. When we realise this, I think it’s possible to fall in love again with our partner. Don’t you think?

This work is inspired by Alain de Botton's ideas on romantic love.

Eleonora Esse

Eleonora Esse was born in Rome in 1979 and lives in Frankfurt since three years. She has a degree in History of Cinema. She has worked as an independent art curator and managed an art gallery in Rome for several years. Her work as an artist aims to express what life teaches her, focusing on essential Christian values and what matters most to lead a life of purpose. She has also worked as a model, a per-school teacher, and a cook.


Romanticism vs. reality

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Garten Instituto Cervantes, Staufenstrasse 1, 60323 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Romantik vs. Realität

Eleonora Esse

Romantik vs. Realität: Ist die romantische Liebe ein kultureller Irrtum?

Die Idee hinter diesem Projekt ist, dass das Erbe der Romantik eine kulturelle Idealisierung der Liebe verursacht hat, die Einsamkeit und Unzufriedenheit erzeugt. Erwarten wir zu viel von dem, was wir für die romantische Liebe halten?

Die romantische Liebe steht oft in Kontrast zur Realität des Alltags, der Ehe und des Familienlebens. Sind unsere Erwartungen unrealistisch, weil wir die Erben einer Kultur sind, die die Liebe scheinbar feiert, in Wirklichkeit aber unsere emotionale Instabilität verstärkt? Haben Popmusik, Filme und die Animationsfilme von Walt Disney unsere Vorstellung von Romantik beeinflusst?

Die Liebe ist etwas, das man bewusst wählt, und sie ist nicht konstant, sie kommt und geht wie unsere Gefühle. Unerschütterliche Liebe für jemanden ist nicht naturgegeben, aber man kann sie lernen. Wir sind alle unvollkommen, und es wird nie einen Menschen geben, der all unsere Bedürfnisse erfüllt, umgekehrt sind auch wir nicht perfekt. Einsamkeit und Unzufriedenheit in einer Beziehung sind vergängliche und normale Gefühle. Wenn wir das erkennen, kann es möglich sein, sich wieder in einen Partner zu verlieben – Meinen Sie nicht auch?

Inspiriert von Alain de Bottons Ideen zur romantischen Liebe, lädt diese minimalistische Installation aus lumineszierenden Glaskieseln zum Nach- und vielleicht Umdenken ein.

Eleonora Esse

Eleonora Esse wurde 1979 in Rom geboren und lebt seit drei Jahren in Frankfurt. Nach ihrem Studium in Filmgeschichte hat sie als unabhängige Kuratorin gearbeitet und mehrere Jahre eine Kunstgalerie in Rom geleitet. Ihre Arbeit als Künstlerin zielt darauf ab, das auszudrücken, was das Leben sie lehrt. Dabei konzentriert sie sich auf wesentliche christliche Werte und darauf, was am wichtigsten ist, um ein sinnerfülltes Leben zu führen.


Romantik vs. Realität

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Garten Instituto Cervantes, Staufenstrasse 1, 60323 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.