Recycling Plastic Glows!

Bär + Knell

Get involved in new ways of looking at mundane things:

Used packaging plastics and second-hand clothing could have more in common than is apparent at first glance. The amount of plastic in our clothing is constantly increasing. By separating packaging and raw materials from their usual context, their material origin and functional relationships, they become independent symbols.

The apparent arbitrariness of the visible object is coupled with the arbitrariness of plastic in modern mass consumption. The original colors, brand names, logos and letters are contemporary documents – they reflect things and their transmogrification in the course of daily life in society. If garbage, viewed from the future, really holds a key to the past, then it must also hold a key to the present, with which the current relationship to reality can be explored.

Bär + Knell

Bär + Knell consists of Beata and Gerhard Bär and Hartmut Knell. Since 1992, they have been working with used household packaging plastics, making a process-related change to the material, which gives it a new feel and surface. They show the appeal of changeability and promote an augmented perception of the material. The work of Bär + Knell is shown internationally in many museums.


Recycling Plastic Glows!

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 16:30–23 Uhr / 14.03.20, ab 16 Uhr Cocktails
  • Carpe Diem Second Hand, Rossmarkt 12 (Steinwegpassage), 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Recycling Plastik leuchtet!

Bär + Knell

Lassen Sie sich ein auf neue Sichtweisen des Alltäglichen: Gebrauchte Verpackungskunststoffe und gebrauchte Kleidung können mehr gemeinsam haben, als auf den ersten Blick zu erahnen ist. Der Plastikanteil in unserer Kleidung steigt ständig an. Durch die Loslösung der Verpackungen und Rohstoffe aus ihrem üblichen Kontext, ihren materiellen Entstehungsbedingungen und Funktionszusammenhängen, werden sie zu unverbindlichen Zeichen.

Die anscheinende Beliebigkeit des sichtbaren Objekts ist gekoppelt mit der Beliebigkeit des Kunststoffs im modernen Massenkonsum. Die original Farben, Markennamen, Logos und Buchstaben sind Dokumente unserer Zeit - sie spiegeln die Dinge und ihren Wandel im Verlauf des täglichen Lebens in der Gesellschaft wieder. Wenn der Müll, von der Zukunft aus betrachtet, tatsächlich einen Schlüssel zur Vergangenheit birgt, dann muss er auch schon einen Schlüssel zur Gegenwart bereithalten, mit dem sich die derzeitigen Wirklichkeitsverhältnisse erschließen lassen.

 

Bär + Knell

Bär + Knell, sind Beata und Gerhard Bär sowie Hartmut Knell. Seit 1992 arbeiten sie mit gebrauchten Verpackungskunststoffen aus Haushalten und nehmen eine prozessuale Veränderung des Materials vor, durch die sie eine neue Haptik und Oberfläche annehmen. Sie zeigen den Reiz des Veränderlichen und fördern eine erweiterte Wahrnehmung des Materials. Die Arbeit von Bär + Knell ist international in vielen Museen vertreten.


Recycling Plastik leuchtet!

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 16:30–23 Uhr / 14.03.20, ab 16 Uhr Cocktails
  • Carpe Diem Second Hand, Rossmarkt 12 (Steinwegpassage), 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.