Obsidian

Robert Seidel

Creative processes are complex and branched; in them, claim and realization converge, with the outcome uncertain. Robert Seidel's projection gathers the fragments of such a non-linear process and depicts it on the façade of the new Deutsche Romantik Museum.

Inspired by the extensive archives of the Freie Deutsches Hochstift, the Museum's supporting association, and the manuscripts, drafts and drawings collected over the past hundred years, "Obsidian" captures the wandering gaze of the artist as an explorer, creating creates something unseen from an exuberant wealth of sources.

Set in motion, Seidel's pictorial worlds oscillate between gestural handwriting, delicate calligraphy and boisterous figurines. As media chimeras, they bridge the intellectual world of analogue romanticism and the optimized, digital modern age. While our everyday life amid the intoxication of devices offers ever fewer havens of peace, in the scriptural film sculptures the most diverse timelines, dimensions and perspectives penetrate without regard to Euclidean space or physical boundaries.  By means of dramatic deceleration and deliberate mental leaps, an abstract haven of peace, akin to nature, is created.

Supported by artificial fog and a soundtrack composed by the artist, "Obsidian" unfolds a crystalline web of associations, bringing the sublime and intangible back into the urban world of the senses.

We met Robert Seidel, when he was on research in Frankfurt. Here is the report: Knee-depp in the german romantic

Robert Seidel

Robert Seidel works on the transcended boundary of abstract beauty with a visual, technological and scientific approach. His projections, installations and experimental films have been shown at numerous international festivals and in such museums as the Palais des Beaux-Arts Lille, ZKM Karlsruhe, Art Center Nabi Seoul, Young Projects Los Angeles and MOCA Taipei and have been awarded, among others, the Honorary Prize of the KunstFilmBiennale and the Visual Music Award Frankfurt.


Obsidian

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Deutsches Romantik-Museum, Großer Hirschgraben 17 – 21, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Obsidian

Robert Seidel

Die Projektion von Robert Seidel versammelt die Fragmente eines nichtlinearen Prozesses und bildet ihn auf der Fassade des neuen Deutschen Romantik-Museums ab.

Schaffensprozesse sind komplex verästelt, in ihnen verspannen sich Anspruch und Realisierung mit ungewissem Ausgang. Die Projektion von Robert Seidel versammelt die Fragmente eines solchen nichtlinearen Prozesses und bildet ihn auf der Fassade des neuen Deutschen Romantik-Museums ab.

Inspiriert von den umfassenden Archiven des Freien Deutschen Hochstifts, dem Trägerverein des Museums, und den in den vergangenen hundert Jahren zusammengetragenen Handschriften, Entwürfen und Zeichnungen wird in „Obsidian“ der schweifende Blick des Künstlers als Entdecker eingefangen, der aus einer überbordenden Fülle von Quellen etwas Ungesehenes schafft.

Seidels in Bewegung versetzte Bildwelten oszillieren zwischen gestischer Handschrift, zarter Kalligraphie und ungestümen Figurinen. Als mediale Chimären schlagen sie Brücken zwischen der geistigen Welt der analogen Romantik und der optimierten, digitalen Moderne. Während unser Alltag im Rausch der Geräte immer weniger Ruhepole bietet, durchstoßen sich in den skripturalen Filmplastiken unterschiedlichste Zeitstränge, Dimensionen und Perspektiven ohne Rücksicht auf den euklidischen Raum oder physikalische Grenzen. Mittels dramatischer Entschleunigung und willentlicher Gedankensprünge erzeugt einen abstrakten, der Natur verwandten Ruhepol.

Unterstützt von artifiziellem Nebel und eines eigens komponierten Soundtracks wird „Obsidian“ ein kristallines Assoziationsnetz entfalten, welche das Erhabene und Ungreifbare in die urbane Sinneswelt zurückholt.

Wir haben Robert Seidel während der Recherche für sein Projekt getroffen, hier gehts zum Bericht: Knietief in deutscher Romantik

Robert Seidel

Robert Seidel arbeitet an der Grenzerweiterung von abstrahierter Schönheit durch visuelle, technologische und wissenschaftliche Ansätze. Seine Projektionen, Installationen und Experimentalfilme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals und in Museen wie dem Palais des Beaux-Arts Lille, ZKM Karlsruhe, Art Center Nabi Seoul, Young Projects Los Angeles sowie dem MOCA Taipeh gezeigt und unter anderem mit dem Ehrenpreis der KunstFilmBiennale und dem Visual Music Award Frankfurt ausgezeichnet.


Obsidian

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Deutsches Romantik-Museum, Großer Hirschgraben 17 – 21, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.