NOCTURNALITY

Studio OFOF & VEM Visionemotion

The video installation presents a 3D low-poly head of a lion, made of paper, in the midst of a staged jungle of plants. A video projection brings the lion's head to life. On the one hand, the animations consist of abstract shapes and patterns and, on the other, of 3D animations suggesting that the model is changing its shape.

The background: Low-poly graphics were born in the 1990s out of necessity. In their 3D models at that time, game developers were focusing on figures and objects or "polygons" with as few surfaces as possible, in order to create fluid game experiences despite low computing capacity. Today, for creative reasons, low-poly is experiencing a revival. In a world of hyper-realistic possibilities, artists and designers are motivated by the joy of playing with surface, form and reduction in designing works of art in low-poly style and thus creating a certain retro charm in our highly digitalized times.

 

Studio OFOF & VEM Visionemotion

Studio OFOF is the creative branch of the OFOF Cafebar in Offenbach, focused on consulting, content, design & events. For the Luminale 2020, Studio OFOF is cooperating with VEM Visionemotion (Hanau) under the project name “NOCTURNALITY”.


NOCTURNALITY

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 13.–15.03.20, 19–22 Uhr
  • Eintritt frei
  • Studio OFOF, Ludwigstrasse 197, 63067 Offenbach

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

NOCTURNALITY

Studio OFOF & VEM Visionemotion

Die Videoinstallation zeigt einen 3D-Low-Poly Löwenkopf, der aus Papier gefertigt wurde, inmitten eines inszenierten Dschungels aus Pflanzen. Mittels einer Videoprojektion wird der Löwenkopf zum Leben erweckt. Die Animationen bestehen zum einen aus abstrakten Formen und Mustern und zum anderen aus 3D-Animationen, die den Eindruck vermitteln, dass sich die Form des Models verändert.

Hintergrund: Low-Poly-Grafiken wurden in den 1990er Jahren aus der Not heraus geboren. Spieleentwickler setzten damals in ihren 3D-Modellen auf Figuren und Objekte mit möglichst wenigen Flächen („Polygone“), um trotz geringer Rechenkapazität flüssige Spieleerlebnisse zu erschaffen. Heute erlebt Low-Poly aus kreativen Gründen ein Revival. In einer Welt hyperrealistischer Möglichkeiten motiviert Künstler*innen und Designer*innen die Freude am Spiel mit Fläche, Form und Reduktion dazu, Kunstwerke im Low-Poly-Stil zu entwerfen und somit in unserer hoch digitalisierten Zeit einen gewissen Retrocharme zu erschaffen.

 

Studio OFOF & VEM Visionemotion

Studio OFOF ist der kreative Abzweig von der OFOF Cafebar in Offenbach mit dem Fokus auf Consulting, Content, Design & Events. Für die Luminale 2020 kooperiert Studio OFOF unter dem Projektnamen „NOCTURNALITY“ mit VEM Visionemotion aus Hanau.


NOCTURNALITY

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 13.–15.03.20, 19–22 Uhr
  • Eintritt frei
  • Studio OFOF, Ludwigstrasse 197, 63067 Offenbach

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.