Kreis Lauf

Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler

The installation by Benjamin Thomas Wipfler consists of 40 white glass bottles, positioned octagonally (in antiquity a sign of perfection) to one another to represent a simplified circle.  Digitalization has created countless opportunities, not least in the lighting industry. Far beyond the light bulb’s classic ON/OFF switch, optical illusions and harmonious color sequences are created by means of LED technology and the corresponding control systems. In this project, each bottle is illuminated with one RGB-LED pixel dot. Each light source can be individually controlled and can illuminate and shine in different colors and levels of brightness, thus creating a romantic lighting mood. 

The installation was presented at the Essen Light Festival in autumn 2019 as an entry for the sustainability prize "Remondis Light Award 2019" and now shines with new programming – specifically customized to the location.

Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler

Benjamin Thomas Wipfler has been engaged in the design of project-specific lighting solutions for interiors and exteriors, as well as the development of municipal and industrial lighting systems since founding his company "Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler" in 2018. In 2019, his temporary works SCHERENSCHNITT were shown at the Berchinale des Lichts in Berching and KEIS LAUF at the Essen Light Festival.


Kreis Lauf

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Friedberger Anlage, gegenüber der Friedberger Anlage 14, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Kreis Lauf

Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler

Die Installation von Benjamin Thomas Wipfler besteht aus 40 Weißglasflaschen, welche oktogonal (in der Antike ein Zeichen der Vollkommenheit) zueinander positioniert sind und einen vereinfachten Kreis darstellen. Die Digitalisierung schuf nicht zuletzt auch in der Beleuchtungsindustrie unzählige Möglichkeiten. Fernab von dem klassischen AN/AUS der Glühbirne, werden mittels LED-Technik und der zugehörigen Steuerung optische Illusionen und harmonische Farbabläufe geschaffen. Bei diesem Projekt werden die Flaschen mit je einem RGB-LED Pixeldot zum Leuchten gebracht. Jede Lichtquelle kann einzeln angesteuert werden und in verschiedenen Lichtfarben und Helligkeiten aufleuchten, um eine romantische  Lichtstimmung zu erzeugen.

Die Installation wurde erstmals im Herbst 2019 auf dem Essen Light Festival als Einreichung zum Nachhaltigkeitspreis „Remondis Light Award 2019“ ausgestellt und erstrahlt nun mit einer neuen – auf den Ort zugeschnittenen – Programmierung.

Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler

Benjamin Thomas Wipfler befasst sich seit der Gründung des gleichnamigen Büros „Light Design – Benjamin Thomas Wipfler“ im Jahr 2018 mit der Gestaltung projektspezifischer Lichtlösungen im Innen- und Außenbereich, sowie der Entwicklung kommunaler und industrieller Beleuchtungsanlagen. Im Jahr 2019 wurden seine temporären Arbeiten SCHERENSCHNITT auf der Berchinale des Lichts in Berching und KEIS LAUF auf dem Essen Light Festival gezeigt.


Kreis Lauf

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Friedberger Anlage, gegenüber der Friedberger Anlage 14, 60316 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.