It’s Alive! – It is a life?

Sehräuber x glitch.ed und Initiative Stellwerk

We opened a window to the signal box and an alien life form sprang out, which can unfortunately no longer be restrained. What happened in the signal tower over its decades of emptiness? Secret Service experiments? Chemical spills? Maybe the explanation is much simpler and the isolated analogue switchgears just combined with emissions from passing express trains…

What we can recognize, at least at first, are tentacles and a swarm of jellyfish-like creatures. Are there more? Where does this alien life form end and the city begin? We can't fully understand what's going on.

The Stellwerk initiative’s spacious installation of interacting lights breathes life into the future place of culture and neighborly solidarity beside Offenbach’s main train station. All can dive into the few square meters of deep see in the city center, specially created for the Luminale. In the interplay of light and music, the objects explore the conflict between organic forms and their synthetic inner life.

At the same time in the local next-door kiosk: painful, yet also positive changes in the southern part of Offenbach`s city center are instantly and unmistakably visible in the photos on display. Manfred Menzel and Christoph Schrief are Offenbach wanderers, photographing the old and the new on their city rambles.

Sehräuber x glitch.ed und Initiative Stellwerk

The Initiative Stellwerk: a spacious installation of interacting lights breathes life into the future place of culture and neighborly solidarity beside Offenbach’s main train station.


It’s Alive! – It is a life?

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–23 Uhr
  • Stellwerk am Hauptbahnhof Offenbach, Bismarckstraße 118, 63065 Offenbach am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

It’s Alive! – It is a life?

Sehräuber x glitch.ed und Initiative Stellwerk

Wir haben ein Fenster des Stellwerks geöffnet. Heraus quoll eine unverstandene Lebensform, die sich leider nicht mehr einfangen lässt. Was ist in den Jahrzehnten des Leerstands im Stellwerksgebäude passiert? Geheimdienstexperimente? Ein Chemieunfall? Vielleicht ist auch alles einfacher und die vereinsamten analogen Schaltanlagen haben sich mit den Ausdünstungen der vorbeirasenden ICE‘s verbunden?

Erkennbar sind, jedenfalls für den Moment, Tentakel und ein Schwarm quallenartiger Wesen. Ist da noch mehr? Wo hört diese fremde Lebensform auf und wo beginnt die Stadt? So ganz verstehen wir selbst nicht, was hier passiert.

Mit einer raumfüllenden Installation aus interagierenden Lichtobjekten belebt die Initiative Stellwerk erstmals den zukünftigen Ort für Kultur und solidarische Nachbar*innenschaft neben dem Offenbacher Hauptbahnhof. Mitten in der Stadt entstehen zur Luminale einige Quadratmeter Tiefsee zum Eintauchen für alle. Die Objekte erkunden im Zusammenspiel von Licht und Musik das Spannungsfeld zwischen organischen Formen und ihrem synthetischem Innenleben.

Parallel dazu im Stadtteilkiosk nebenan: Schmerzliche und auch positive Veränderungen in der südlichen Innenstadt von Offenbach, werden auf ausgestellten Fotos unmittelbar und unverstellt sichtbar. Manfred Menzel und Christoph Schrief sind die Offenbacher Spaziergänger. Sie fotografieren auf ihren Streifzügen durch Offenbach Altes und Neues mit viel Liebe zu den Menschen in ihrer Umgebung.

Sehräuber x glitch.ed und Initiative Stellwerk

Die Initiative Stellwerk belebt mit einer raumfüllenden Installation aus interagierenden Lichtobjekten erstmals den zukünftigen Ort für Kultur und solidarische Nachbar*innenschaft neben dem Offenbacher Hauptbahnhof.


It’s Alive! – It is a life?

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19:30–23 Uhr
  • Stellwerk am Hauptbahnhof Offenbach, Bismarckstraße 118, 63065 Offenbach am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.