I live with my brat in a high-rise flat

Kathi Kæppel

The title “I live with my brat in a high-rise flat" refers to Roald Dahl's adaptation of the children’s rhyme "Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary", where a brief, humorous conversation takes place about a flourishing garden. The Infinity installation of mirrored glass transports the nature of a garden into the urban space as fragmentary drawings: one line growing beside another: wild, raw, reduced, irregular and, at the same time, delicate.

The SEVEN SWANS is one of only three vegetarian star restaurants in Germany. Ricky Saward cooks here with talents acquired at the permaculture brewers meadows at the city gates, and, among other awards, was honored with the Michelin-Sustainability Award in 2017.

*Roald Dahl: Rhyme Stew, Jonathan Cape, London 1989.

Kathi Kæppel

Artist Kathi Kæppel lives and works in Frankfurt. She studied at the Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weissensee and the UCA, UK. At the core of her artistic works are installations combining visual and descriptive elements of narrative cinema with reality. In this way, she creates multi-layered graphic and cinematic spaces. Most recently, she taught as a visiting professor at the Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weissensee. She has been awarded various international prizes and scholarships.


I live with my brat in a high-rise flat

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12. und 15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Begrenzter Einlass, kostenfreie Tickets am Eingang
  • Seven Swans, Fischergasse 7, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

I live with my brat in a high-rise flat

Kathi Kæppel

Der Titel „I live with my brat in a high-rise flat“ bezieht sich auf Roald Dahls Adaption des Reims “Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary“*, in welchem ein kurzes, humorvolles Gespräch über einen Garten und dessen Gedeihen stattfindet. Die aus Spiegelglas bestehende Infinity–Installation transferiert die Natur eines Gartens als fragmentarische Zeichnungen in den urbanen Raum: wild, roh, reduziert, unregelmäßig und zugleich zart wächst eine Linie neben der anderen.

Das SEVEN SWANS ist eins von nur drei vegetarischen Sternerestaurants in Deutschland. Ricky Saward kocht hier mit Gaben, die von den in Permakultur betriebenen Braumannswiesen vor den Toren der Stadt stammen und wurde 2019 neben weiteren Auszeichnungen mit dem Michelin-Sustainability Award geehrt.

*Roald Dahl: Rhyme Stew, Jonathan Cape, London 1989.

Kathi Kæppel

Kathi Kæppel ist eine Künstlerin, die in Frankfurt lebt und arbeitet. Sie studierte an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee und der UCA, UK. Kern ihrer künstlerischen Praxis sind Installationen, die visuelle und narrative Elemente des Erzählkinos mit der Wirklichkeit verbinden. So entstehen vielschichtige zeichnerische und filmische Räume. Zuletzt lehrte sie als Gastprofessorin an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee. Sie wurde mit diversen internationalen Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet.


I live with my brat in a high-rise flat

Lichtkunst Indoor

  • 12. und 15.03.20, 19:30–22:30 Uhr
  • Begrenzter Einlass, kostenfreie Tickets am Eingang
  • Seven Swans, Fischergasse 7, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.