Hyperion

Hagen Bonifer

"Sailing on a wine-dark sea to people of another tongue" - the quotation from Homer's Odyssey has adorned the Eiserne Steg in ancient Greek script since 1999. The inscription is by Hagen Bonifer.

For the Luminale, the artist has once again developed a site-specific concept and once again builds a bridge - literally - to the Greek mythology of antiquity. The words of Hyperion from Hölderlin's novel of the same name are at the heart of the temporary installation.

Like a meandering ribbon they cross the river at the base of the bridge, traverse Homer’s quote inscribed above the footbridge. With and through Hyperion, Hölderlin speaks to us before returning to Greece "[...] but where a nation love beauty, where it honors the genius in its artists, there wafts the breath of life, a common spirit. There, opens the timid mind, pride melts away, and piety and greatness are born, and hearts and heroes give birth to passion. The homeland of all humans is with such a nation, among whom, the stranger may pleasurably linger." Thus, Hölderlin's words enter into dialogue with Homer's departure for new shores.

The quotation is set in self-illuminating foil on the foot of the Eiserne Steg. Although the use of capital letters makes it more difficult to read, their enigmatic character is enhanced and the reader cannot so easily skim through the words that inevitably enter into a discourse, thus becoming a part of the temporary installation.

Hagen Bonifer

Offenbach-based artist Hagen Bonifer works in the field of conceptual and interdisciplinary art and cultural exchange. Best known for his textual installations, the painting cycle "Vom Nutzen zu zweifeln: 2 Juni 1967" and the inscription on the Eiserne Steg. His works are to be found in both, sacral and public spaces. Resident in Mühlheim am Main, Hagen Bonifer works as a stage designer, both at home and abroad.


Hyperion

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, ab Einbruch der Dunkelheit
  • Eiserner Steg, Mainkai, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Hyperion

Hagen Bonifer

„Auf weinfarbenem Meer segelnd zu Menschen anderer Sprache“ – das Zitat aus Homers Odyssee ziert seit 1999 in Altgriechischer Schrift den Eisernen Steg. Die Aufschrift stammt von Hagen Bonifer.

Für den Eisernen Steg hat der Künstler nun wieder ein ortsspezifisches Konzept erarbeitet, das erneut eine Brücke – wortwörtlich – zur griechischen Mythologie der Antike schlägt. Die Worte des Hyperion aus Hölderlins gleichnamigem Roman stehen im Mittelpunkt der temporären Installation.

Einem Mäanderband gleich queren sie auf dem Boden der Brücke den Fluss und kreuzen das Homer-Zitat über dem Steg. Hölderlin spricht durch und mit Hyperion zu uns, bevor er seine Reise zurück nach Griechenland antritt „[…] wo aber ein Volk das Schöne liebt, wo es den Genius in seinen Künstlern ehrt, da weht, wie Lebensluft, ein allgemeiner Geist, da öffnet sich der scheue Sinn, der Eigendünkel schmilzt, und fromm und groß sind alle Herzen und Helden gebiert die Begeisterung. Die Heimat aller Menschen ist bei solchem Volk und gerne mag der Fremde sich verweilen.“ So treten Hölderlins Worte in Dialog mit Homers Aufbruch zu neuen Ufern.

Das Zitat wird in selbstleuchtender Folie auf dem Boden des Eisernen Stegs angebracht. Durch die Verwendung von Versalien ist die Lesbarkeit zwar erschwert, ihr Rätselcharakter aber gesteigert, und die Lesenden können die Worte nicht so leicht „überfliegen“. Sie treten notwendigerweise in einen Diskurs und werden so Teil der temporären Installation.

Hagen Bonifer

Der Offenbacher Künstler Hagen Bonifer arbeitet im Bereich der konzeptionellen und interdisziplinären Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung. Er wurde durch seine textgebundenen Installationen, den Gemäldezyklus „Vom Nutzen zu zweifeln: 2. Juni 1967“ und die Inschrift auf dem Eisernen Steg bekannt. Seine Werke befinden sich im sakralen und öffentlichen Raum. Bonifer ist als Bühnenbildner im In- und Ausland tätig. Er lebt in Mühlheim am Main.


Hyperion

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, ab Einbruch der Dunkelheit
  • Eiserner Steg, Mainkai, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.