From Inner to Outer Light

Anny und Sibel Öztürk

Steve Jansen (Sounds)

Anny and Sibel Öztürk’s "From Inner to Outer Light" in the Liebfrauenkirche Frankfurt is a sound and light installation based on audience participation.

Essentially, it is the energy of the visitors that co-determines the sound and light in the room. Visitors waiting outside the church can barely hear the sound within, yet perceive the lighting event as a radiance through the church windows. Conversely, visitors inside cannot see the windows from without.

The sound and light installation, with abstract subtilty, describes the historic encounter and dialogue between Francis of Assisi, founder of the Capuchin order, and Sultan Al-Malik, who turned to the West. This memorable encounter was reenacted for the 800th time in 2019.

At the invitation of the artists, musician and composer Steve Jansen of London created a sound composition for the project that interacts with the light installation. The composition partly consists of audio tracks that were actually recorded in the Church.

Anny and Sibel Öztürk wish to thank Capuchin Father Stefan M. Huppertz for the creative collaboration.

Anny und Sibel Öztürk

In their collaborative work, Städelschule graduates Anny and Sibel Öztürk tackle various themes with a variety of artistic media. Against the background of individual, pictorial memories, they address issues of collective memory from an intercultural perspective. It is a narrative embracing all resources: Light, sound, warmth and scent convey impressive multi-aesthetic experiences to the viewer.


From Inner to Outer Light

  • 12.–14.03.20, 20:00–22:00 Uhr
    15.03.2020, 21:00–22:00 Uhr
  • Liebfrauenkirche, Liebfrauenberg, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

From Inner to Outer Light

Anny und Sibel Öztürk

Steve Jansen (Sounds)

Wanja Olten (Live-Sounds)

„From Inner to Outer Light“ von Anny und Sibel Öztürk ist eine, auf Publikumsbeteiligung basierende Klang- und Lichtinstallation in der Liebfrauenkirche Frankfurt.

Im Wesentlichen ist es die eingebrachte Energie der Besucher*innen, die Klang und Licht im Raum mitbestimmt. Die außerhalb der Kirche Wartenden hören die Klanginstallation, die im Inneren stattfindet, kaum, das Lichtereignis nehmen sie jedoch als ein Erstrahlen der Kirchenfenster wahr. Umgekehrt können die Besucher*innen im Gebäude die Fenster nicht von außen sehen. Dieser Dialog zwischen den Gruppen ist ein fortwährendes Versprechen an eine gestaltbare Zukunft.

Die Sound- und Lichtinstallation der Künstlerinnen beschreibt abstrakt und subtil die historische Begegnung und den Dialog zwischen Franz von Assisi, dem Begründer des Kapuzinerordens, und dem sich dem Westen zugewandten Sultan Al-Malik. Diese erinnerungswürdige Begegnung jährte sich 2019 zum 800. Mal.

Musiker und Komponist Steve Jansen aus London, erarbeitete auf Einladung der beiden Künstlerinnen, eine Sound-Komposition für das Projekt, die mit der Lichtinstallation interagiert. Diese Komposition besteht zum Teil aus Tonaufnahmen, die in der Liebfrauenkirche aufgezeichnet wurden.

Anny und Sibel Öztürk danken Kapuzinerpater Stefan M. Huppertz für die kreative Zusammenarbeit.

Anny und Sibel Öztürk

In ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit setzten sich die Städelabsolventinnen Anny und Sibel Öztürk, unter Einsatz einer Vielzahl künstlerischer Medien, mit diversen Themen auseinander. Vor dem Hintergrund individueller Erinnerungsbilder widmen sie sich Themen kollektiver Erinnerung aus einer interkulturellen Perspektive. Es ist ein Erzählen mit allen Mitteln: Licht, Klang, Wärme und Gerüche vermitteln dem Betrachter eindrückliche multiästhetische Erlebnisse.


From Inner to Outer Light

  • 12.–15.03.20, 20:00–22:00 Uhr
  • Liebfrauenkirche, Liebfrauenberg, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.