FFF – musical score for four fluorescent tubes

Marek Slipek

A monument is unveiled that shows two naked young men talking on the phone – such a display of nudity might well have caused a real scandal a century ago.

In honor of Philipp Reis, German inventor of the telephone and piezo microphone, FFF, Marek Slipek’s light and sound installation, briefly illuminates and silhouettes the two young men like a flash lightning storm suggesting the éclat of the age.

The lightning flashes are accompanied by the clicking of the four fluorescent tubes. They acoustically form a random rhythm, reminiscent of the clicking of cameras. Each fluorescent tube seems to have a mind of its own, both visibly and audibly switching light on and off at varying intervals. Thus, each fluorescent tube creates its own rhythm; together they interacting to form a musical score. Although each fluorescent tube is based on random processes, our brain cannot help but seek patterns in the pulsating installation – thus creating an individual picture for each viewer.

Marek Slipek

Marek Slipek, designer, digital artist and electronic musician, works mainly in the field of generative design and visuals. His design work has garnered such renowned awards as the Type Directors Club New York, or the Red Dot Award and is to be heard and seen at such media art festivals as B-Seite or STFU, or at Fulldome-Festivals in Jena, Kassel or Brussels, as well as in clubs such as Vangarde or Disco Zwei. As a noise musician he acts as Cernlab and High Memory Area.


FFF – musical score for four fluorescent tubes

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Philipp-Reiss-Denkmal, Eschenheimer Anlage, 60318 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

FFF – Partitur für vier Leuchtstoffröhren

Marek Slipek

Ein Denkmal wird enthüllt, das zwei Jünglinge nackt telefonierend miteinander zeigt – solch ein zur Schau tragen von Nacktheit konnte vor genau 100 Jahren noch einen handfesten Skandal auslösen.

Geehrt wird hier der deutsche Erfinder des Telefons und des Piezomikrofons Philipp Reis. Die Licht- und Klanginstallation FFF von Marek Slipek leuchtet und konturiert die beiden Jünglinge wie ein Blitzlichtgewitter für kurze Augenblicke aus und verweist auf den damaligen Eklat. Begleitet wird das Aufblitzen von Klickschaltgeräuschen der vier Leuchtstoffröhren, die akustisch einen zufälligen Rhythmus bilden und gleichzeitig an das Klicken von Fotoapparaten erinnern. Jede Leuchtstoffröhre hat einen eigenen Willen und schaltet sichtbar und hörbar Licht in variierenden Zeitabständen ein und aus. So erzeugt jede Leuchtstoffröhre ihren eigenen Rhythmus – zusammen interagieren sie und bilden eine Partitur.

Obwohl jede Leuchtstoffröhre auf Zufallsvorgängen basierend handelt, kann unser Gehirn nicht anders als in der pulsierenden Installation nach Mustern zu suchen – so entsteht für die Betrachter*innen ein jeweils individuelles Gesamtbild.

Marek Slipek

Marek Slipek ist Gestalter, Digital Artist und elektronischer Musiker. Er arbeitet hauptsächlich im Feld generativer Gestaltung und Visuals. Seine Arbeiten wurden mit renommierten Designpreisen wie dem Type Directors Club New York oder dem Red Dot Award ausgezeichnet und sind auf Medienkunstfestivals wie B-Seite oder STFU, auf Fulldome-Festivals in Jena, Kassel oder Brüssel, in Clubs wie Vangarde oder Disco Zwei zu hören und zu sehen. Als Noise-Musiker agiert er als Cernlab und High Memory Area.


FFF – Partitur für vier Leuchtstoffröhren

Lichtkunst Outdoor

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Philipp-Reiss-Denkmal, Eschenheimer Anlage, 60318 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.