Facing Extinction

Dr. Marion Mehring

Dieter Paulmann

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese

Why is the preservation of biodiversity important? What are the consequences of its loss for individuals and for human society? What do we really know, where are gaps? What are the greatest threats, where do we need to act immediately? The doomsday scenarios are often presented - and yet, there are also many successful projects worldwide that effectively counteract the loss of species and promote sustainable consumption. Can these initiatives set a precedent? What can we do ourselves? 

Overview of all events of the theme day on 15.03.20: (Urban) Nature

Dr. Marion Mehring

Dr. Marion Mehring is Head of the Biodiversity and Population Research Unit at ISOE - Institute for Social-Ecological Research, Biodiversity and People. Her research focus lies on: Protection and use of biodiversity, inter- and transdisciplinary research processes, socio-ecological systems. Dr. Mehring conducts national and international research in Europe and Asia

Dieter Paulmann

Dieter Paulmann founded the OKEANOS Foundation for the Sea in 2007 to play a part in protecting the oceans. Internationally active, in 2015, the foundation produced the documentary film RACING EXTINCTION. Images from the film will also be part of a projection on the Westend Campus of the Goethe-University Frankfurt.

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese is Director of the Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre (SBiK-F), Professor at Goethe University Frankfurt, Vice-President of the Leibniz Association. She researches the significance of biological diversity in the Earth-human system. Her prime interest is the influence of climate change and land use change on biological communities and ecosystems. The aim of her research is to develop knowledge and solutions that contribute to sustainable development.


Facing Extinction

Podiumsdiskussion

  • 15.03.20, 12:30–13:30 Uhr
  • Instituto Cervantes – Festivalzentrum, Staufenstrasse 1, 60323 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Facing Extinction

Dr. Marion Mehring

Dieter Paulmann

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese

Warum ist es wichtig, biologische Vielfalt zu erhalten? Welche Folgen hat der Verlust von Biodiversität auf den Einzelnen und auf die menschliche Gesellschaft? Was wissen wir wirklich, wo sind Lücken? Welches sind die größten Gefahren, wo muss sofort gehandelt werden? Die Untergangs-Szenarien werden oft dargestellt – dabei gibt es weltweit auch viele erfolgreiche Projekte, die dem Verlust der Arten wirksam entgegensteuern und nachhaltigen Konsum fördern. Können diese Initiativen Schule machen? Was kann jeder selbst tun?

Zur Übersicht aller Veranstaltungen des Thementags am 15.03.20: (Stadt)Natur

Dr. Marion Mehring

Dr. Marion Mehring ist Leiterin des Forschungsschwerpunktes Biodiversität und Bevölkerung am ISOE – Institut für sozial-ökologische Forschung. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte: Schutz und Nutzung von Biodiversität, Inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschungsprozesse, sozial-ökologische Systeme. Frau Dr. Mehring forscht national und international in Europa und Asien

Dieter Paulmann

Dieter Paulmann gründet 2007 die OKEANOS Stiftung für das Meer, um einen Beitrag für den Umweltschutz der Weltmeere zu leisten. Die Stiftung ist international aktiv. Im Jahr 2015 produzierte sie den Dokumentarfilm RACING EXTINCTION. Bilder aus dem Film werden auch Teil einer Projektion auf dem Westend Campus der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt sein.

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese ist Direktorin des Senckenberg Biodiversität und Klima Forschungszentrum (SBiK-F), Professorin an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Vizepräsidentin der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Sie erforscht die Bedeutung der biologischen Vielfalt im System Erde–Mensch. Ihr vornehmliches Interesse gilt dem Einfluss des Klima- und Landnutzungswandels auf Lebensgemeinschaften und Ökosysteme. Ziel ihrer Forschung ist es, Wissen und Lösungen zu erarbeiten, die zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen.


Facing Extinction

Podiumsdiskussion

  • 15.03.20, 12:30–13:30 Uhr
  • Instituto Cervantes – Festivalzentrum, Staufenstrasse 1, 60323 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.