MEMORY OF THE PRESENT

Grit Reiss

Light projected on an installation of paper travel tickets from all over the world is the main component of the project MEMORY OF THE PRESENT, which was launched in 2019 at Art Space Bremerhaven. In the window of the antiquarian bookstore TRESOR AM RÖMER, images of the folded paper tickets and their shadows on the back of a semitransparent surface create illusions of movement. 

The second window of the bookstore shows a video of several hands pinning folded paper tickets into a wing-like form for an artistic exhibition. The third element of the project, which is transmitted to visitors' mobile phones via a QR code, is a video showing how the data of the tickets from all over the world can be deciphered. With the fourth component, Grit Reiss calls upon visitors to become part of the project’s future with LET US BE BUILD A MEMORIAL: Tickets can be deposited in the mailbox of the exhibition site and thus become part of the collection for future installations.

 The title not only refers to the material of paper, which is dying out as a ticket, but MEMORY OF THE PRESENT seeks to encourage a universal discourse in the context of mobility, globalization and environmental protection. 

Grit Reiss

The work of Grit Reiss is based on the observation of social developments. She investigates how the visual perception of reality is changed by the properties of imaging media. By merging and breaking down the boundaries between illusion and the portrayal of reality, her works are disturbing to the viewer. Colors and forms of urban space serve as source material as well as performative conflicts of material and space.


MEMORY OF THE PRESENT

Ausstellung

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Schaufenster des Antiquariats Tresor am Römer, Braubachstraße 32, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Erinnerung an die Gegenwart

Grit Reiss

Eine Lichtprojektion auf einer Installation aus weltweit gesammelten Papierfahrscheinen bildet die Hauptkomponente des Projektes ERINNERUNG AN DIE GEGENWART, das 2019 im Art Space Bremerhaven startete. Im Fenster des Antiquariats Tresor am Römer erzeugen die Abbildungen der gefalteten Papiere und deren Schatten auf der Rückseite einer semitransparenten Oberfläche Bewegungsillusionen.

Das zweite Fenster des Antiquariats zeigt eine Videoperformance, bei der mehrere Hände flügelartig gefaltete Papiertickets für eine kunstvolle Schaustellung anpinnen. Das dritte Element des Projektes wird über einen QR-Code auf Besucherhandys übertragen: ein Video, in dem die Daten der Fahrtickets aus aller Welt entziffert werden können. Mit der vierten Komponente fordert Grit Reiss mit  LASST UNS EIN DENKMAL BAUEN die Besucher auf, Teil der Zukunft dieses Projektes zu werden: Fahrscheine können im Briefkasten des Ausstellungsortes eingeworfen und somit Teil der Sammlung für zukünftige Installationen werden.

Der Titel bezieht sich nicht nur auf das Material Papier, das als Ticket im Begriff ist auszusterben. ERINNERUNG AN DIE GEGENWART möchte einen universellen Diskurs im Kontext von Mobilität, Globalisierung und Umweltschutz ermöglichen.

Grit Reiss

Die Arbeit von Grit Reiss basiert auf der Beobachtung gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen. Sie untersucht, wie visuelle Wahrnehmung von Realität durch Eigenschaften abbildender Medien verändert werden. Ihre Arbeiten irritieren den Betrachter, indem die Grenzen zwischen Illusion und Abbildung der Wirklichkeit sowohl verschmelzen, als auch aufgebrochen werden. Farben und Formen des urbanen Raums dienen ebenso als Ausgangsmaterial wie performative Auseinandersetzungen mit Material und Raum.


Erinnerung an die Gegenwart

Ausstellung

  • 12.–15.03.20, 19–23 Uhr
  • Schaufenster des Antiquariats Tresor am Römer, Braubachstraße 32, 60311 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.