Sceptical Birds

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß, Hanna Steinmair

Here, in the dark, no contours can as yet be discerned. But there are mounting signs that a new, exhausting day is about to dawn, its appearance will be clearly pale, as Skeptical Birds are well aware. Grumpily, they take note of the impending transition to the familiar hustle and bustle. They find refuge in song, but they sing not out of joy, but because they have something to say.

Jacob Bussmann (music/performance), Rahel Kesselring (scenography), Henrike Kohpeiß (dramaturgy) and Hanna Steinmair (choreographic consulting) work on performative settings in which marginal musical and philosophical materials become audible. "Skeptical Birds" takes a performative approach to birds and searches for their waywardness and existential doubts in song.

The concert performance will take place in the saasfee*pavilion, set in the park at the Eschenheimer Tor, illuminated by the twilight. The gradual changes in light create a transitional duration in which diffusion and concentration are possible simultaneously.

The project will be presented by the artists' collective saasfee* in the saasfee*pavilion, Frankfurt's only exhibition space under collective management. As an interdisciplinary platform, it presents current artistic positions, promotes the exchange between local and international artists and functions as an interface between the established art scene and the off-scene.

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß, Hanna Steinmair

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß and Hanna Steinmair work on musical performances, which can take the form of drag, performance essays, or site-specific installations. They met while studying (music/scenography/philosophy/cultural and social anthropology) at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen. Most recently, they created "Sophisticated Songs", which was shown at the performance festival Implantieren in 2018.


Sceptical Birds

Live-Performance

  • 15.03.20, 6 Uhr und 18 Uhr
  • 6€/8€
  • saasfee*pavillon, Bleichstraße 64-66, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Sceptical Birds

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß, Hanna Steinmair

Hier, im Dunkeln, sind noch keine Konturen zu erkennen. Doch es häufen sich Anzeichen, dass ein neuer, anstrengender Tag beginnen wird, blass wird sein Erscheinen deutlich. Sceptical Birds lässt das nicht kalt. Gereizt nehmen sie den anstehenden Übergang ins altbekannte Treiben zur Kenntnis. Sie retten sich in den Gesang, aber sie singen nicht aus Freude, sondern weil sie etwas zu sagen haben.

Jacob Bussmann (Musik/Performance), Rahel Kesselring (Szenografie), Henrike Kohpeiß (Dramaturgie) und Hanna Steinmair (choreografische Beratung) arbeiten an performativen Settings, in denen randständige musikalische und philosophische Materialien hörbar werden. „Sceptical Birds“ unternimmt eine performative Annäherung an Vögel und sucht im Gesang nach ihrem Eigensinn und ihren existenziellen Zweifeln.

Die Konzertperformance findet im saasfee*pavillon statt, eingebettet in die Grünanlage am Eschenheimer Tor, beleuchtet von der Dämmerung. Die graduellen Lichtveränderungen lassen eine Dauer des Übergangs entstehen, in der Diffusion und Konzentration zugleich möglich sind.

Das Projekt wird vom Künstlerkollektiv saasfee* im saasfee*pavillon präsentiert, Frankfurts einzigem Ausstellungsraum mit kollektiver Leitung, der als interdisziplinäre Plattform aktuelle künstlerische Positionen zeigt, den Austausch zwischen lokalen und internationalen Künstler*innen fördert und als Schnittstelle zwischen etabliertem Kunstbetrieb und Off-Szene funktioniert.

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß, Hanna Steinmair

Jacob Bussmann, Rahel Kesselring, Henrike Kohpeiß und Hanna Steinmair arbeiten an musikalischen Performances, die sowohl Drag, Performance-Essay als auch ortsspezifische Installation sein können. Mit unterschiedlicher Vorbildung (Musik/Szenografie/Philosophie/Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie) fanden sie beim Studium am Insititut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen zusammen. Zuletzt entstand "Sophisticated Songs", das im Rahmen des Performance Festivals Implantieren 2018 gezeigt wurde.


Sceptical Birds

Live-Performance

  • 15.03.20, 6 Uhr und 18 Uhr
  • 6€/8€
  • saasfee*pavillon, Bleichstraße 64-66, 60313 Frankfurt am Main

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.