The Luminale’s BETTER CITY turns sustainability in the urban space into a tangible experience, presenting projects that will be preserved for the city and its residents beyond the duration of the Luminale.

What remains when the Luminale is over? With the BETTER CITY section, the Biennial for Light Art and Urban Design has set itself the goal of providing impetus for sustainable urban development. At least one Luminale project is to remain a permanent part of the cityscape, or be further pursued in terms of planning. 

In 2018, for example, the Luminale presented the new permanent light installation at the Friedberger Warte, and a cooperative project was initiated at the Buegel in Nieder-Eschbach to permanently improve lighting in the district.

BETTER CITY also makes the Luminale present in the urban space beyond the festival’s duration and creates sustainability for a special quality of life.

17.01.2020

"Inspire people for sustainable construction"

The Luminale sees itself as a platform to bring together and sensitize local stakeholders to the challenges of urban design. One project in the BETTER CITY section is The GREEN SHOWHOUSE FERDI by PIER F – Port of the Future Frankfurt, founded by Susanne Petry, who explains what lies behind the initiative.

more

12.12.2019

"We want to update the idea of recycling."

Material Warehouse offers a major opportunity to make the exhibition business more sustainable. With "Material für Alle" (Material for All), gallerist and cultural creator Felix Grosse-Lohmann has successfully kick-started his dream of just such a contact point in Frankfurt. MFA is now supporting the Luminale and its artists as a partner.

more

This website is using cookies. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

Luminale BETTER CITY macht Nachhaltigkeit im urbanen Raum konkret erlebbar und zeigt Projekte, die für die Stadt und ihre Bewohner*innen auch über den Zeitraum der Luminale hinaus erhalten bleiben.

Was bleibt, wenn die Luminale vorbei ist? Mit dem Bereich BETTER CITY hat sich die Biennale für Lichtkunst und Stadtgestaltung zum Ziel gesetzt, Impulse für eine nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung zu geben. Mindestens ein Projekt der Luminale soll ein dauerhafter Bestandteil des Stadtbildes bleiben oder in naher Zukunft Gestalt annehmen.

So wurde 2018 anlässlich der Luminale die neue permanente Lichtinstallation an der Friedberger Warte vorgestellt und am Bügel in Nieder-Eschbach mit einem partizipativen Projekt die dauerhafte Verbesserung der Beleuchtung im Quartier angestoßen.

BETTER CITY macht die Luminale auch außerhalb des Festivalzeitraums im Stadtraum präsent und schafft Nachhaltigkeit für eine besondere Lebensqualität.

17.01.2020

„Menschen für nachhaltiges Bauen begeistern“

Die Luminale versteht sich als Plattform, um lokale Akteure zusammenzubringen und für die Herausforderungen von Stadtgestaltung zu sensibilisieren. Ein Projekt der BETTER CITY-Sektion: Das GRÜNE SCHAUHAUS FERDI von PIER F – Zukunftshafen Frankfurt. Gründerin Susanne Petry erzählt, was hinter der Initiative steckt.

mehr

12.12.2019

„Wir möchten den Recycling-Gedanken aktualisieren“

Materiallager bieten eine wichtige Möglichkeit, um den Ausstellungsbetrieb nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Mit „Material für Alle“ hat der Galerist und Kulturschaffende Felix Große-Lohmann seinen Traum von einer solchen Anlaufstelle in Frankfurt erfolgreich anschubfinanziert. Als Partner steht MFA nun auch der Luminale und ihren Künstler*innen zur Seite.

mehr

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen.